The Rockefeller Lodge is truly a thriving legend with its roots emanating from the vast Mexican Grant era. Wealthy Frenchman Joseph Emeric, and American financier John D. Rockefeller were once owners of this estate. Adjoining that of Juan Bautista Alvarado, first native born Governor of California, the then huge estate of Emeric triggered a twenty-seven year boundary dispute. The final decision came long after both parties were dead....but nevertheless laying the foundation for present-day land ownership statutes of the state of California.
First owner Joseph Emeric built a beautiful Colonial showplace later destroyed by fire, in which he entertained San Francisco society and internationally known entertainers such as Blossom Seely, Lillie Langtree (a favorite of King Edward VII) and many more.
Several years before the 1906 San Francisco earthquake, the estate was acquired by John D. Rockefeller and turned into his West Coast retreat and hunting lodge. After the earthquake, Mr. Rockefeller generously opened the estate to 1000 earthquake refugees, instructing his oil refinery employees to work around the clock to build a small village of shakes and housing, a few of which are still standing. It is then that the Lodge became known as “Camp Rockefeller”.
During the 1980’s the lodge was home to a buddhist monastary until purchased by Joyce Neil and Deborah Marshall, a mother and daughter team catering together for 40 years. Joyce, who passed in 2012 is dearly missed. Recently joined by Deborah's son Johnathan, the three generations have transformed the lodge into a charming center for weddings, bar (bat) mitzvahs, anniversaries, birthdays, business retreats, and all special occasions.